Rod dryer

Discussion of Custom Rod Building and Rod Building Activities.

Moderator: Harold T Durham

paul vonderwall
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:59 pm

Rod dryer

Postby paul vonderwall » Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:50 am

Hi guys just wandering if you can help I am
Thinking of buying a flex coat rod dryer but
4 dryers but if brought one I would have to
Change the motors over to work on 240v power
As I am from Australia I have to make my
Own dryer but no luck can I change the
Motors over to suit our power they are
Micro wave oven motors if so I have box with
50 motors so can someone able to tell if it can
Be done with out a good dryer I'm losing customers



ron haack
Site Admin
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:33 pm

Re: Rod dryer

Postby ron haack » Tue Nov 17, 2015 8:51 am

Paul,
Try going to this website http://www.allelectronics.com/ This is where I buy drying motors and other small electic motors. I did not see any small 240v, but they do have a transformer for 120 to 240 or 240 to 120 http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-st ... ers/1.html They are pretty cheap, $20.00 US, but I bet the shipping might be high. Hope this helps..............

paul vonderwall
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:59 pm

Re: Rod dryer

Postby paul vonderwall » Tue Nov 17, 2015 1:11 pm

[quote="ron haack"]Paul,
Try going to this website http://www.allelectronics.com/ This is where I buy drying motors and other small electic motors. I did not see any small 240v, but they do have a transformer for 120 to 240 or 240 to 120 http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-st ... ers/1.html They are pretty cheap, $20.00 US, but I bet the shipping might be high. Hope this helps..............[/quote]
But I can change the motors over once I buy
It then I can change and our motors on the dryer

Chris Ward
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 3:02 pm
Location: S.E. England, UK.

Re: Rod dryer

Postby Chris Ward » Tue Nov 17, 2015 1:50 pm

Paul,
I'm in the UK and have had to face the same challenges. I use most USA production rod building kit and run each electronic item with a transformer - one of my transformers has one 240 in with 2 x 110 out. Two pieces of 110 kit = 1 transformer. You have no need to change motors.
There is a rod building company that does produce a lathe, 4 rod dryer unit & other kit rated @ 240v so no need to get tangled with 110 if you do not wish to.

Good luck Chris

paul vonderwall
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:59 pm

Re: Rod dryer

Postby paul vonderwall » Tue Nov 17, 2015 6:32 pm

[quote="Chris Ward"]Paul,
I'm in the UK and have had to face the same challenges. I use most USA production rod building kit and run each electronic item with a transformer - one of my transformers has one 240 in with 2 x 110 out. Two pieces of 110 kit = 1 transformer. You have no need to change motors.
There is a rod building company that does produce a lathe, 4 rod dryer unit & other kit rated @ 240v so no need to get tangled with 110 if you do not wish to. Thanks do you know who sell them or can you find out for me please

Good luck Chris[/quote]


Return to “Custom Rod Building Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest